Livin’ in the lap of luxury

I watched thirsty as she strod along

Bejewelled in precious stones from the East

Gracefully striding along I could be a pauper for all she cared

Livin’ in the lap of luxury

I peered into what can only be described as a fairytale

Stone lit rooms of grandeur; ornate parlours

Acres the sight of which causes the heart to skip a beat

Livin’ in the lap of luxury

I tried and tried to get a looking

Even more so a passing nod

Invisible I seemed to the clatter of merriment

Livin’ in the lap of luxury

I toiled and toiled

But for a pittance I got

I searched and searched

But for the simple I was served

I dreamt and did not want to wake up

For when the cameras were turned

I earned – more than money could buy

Family, peace, health

All along it was I that lived in the lap of luxury

 
Luxury

Leave a Reply

